Syria was under Ottoman occupation Until the WW1, The currency of circulation was the Ottoman currency, which was based on the base of minerals until the monetary reform of 1888, when the golden rule became the basis of money and it is worth 4 dollars and 40 cents, divided into 100 golden piasters, weighing 7 grams and 166 milligrams of 0.9165. Alongside this basic currency unit, there was also found sub-coins made of cheap metals (silver and copper) used to make small payments. While the big payments were in golden ottoman pounds, lesser extent than English and French golden pounds.

The Turkish paper exchange was very limited, and the concession of issuing paper money was granted to the Ottoman Empire Bank, a French-English company founded in 1862. The issued currency was covered with gold at a rate of about 200%, which is recoverable with gold, but it was little dealt with as per the people's habit of dealing with gold.

during  the First World War, Turkey halted dealing with gold, stopped the exchange of Turkish paper money with gold, imposed mandatory paper money, and when the Ottoman bank refused to lend the Turkish government to finance the war against France and England, the government made 1915-1918 seven consecutive issues, Based on gold coverage, and the rest to bonds on the German and Austrian treasury.

The non-supported issues have led to the deterioration of the purchasing value of Turkish paper money, which has lost 80% of its value, causing individuals to flee from dealing with it and clinging to gold, which has increased in quantity in the Empire's provinces, as the Turkish government repaid the supplies it bought from the provinces In gold.

Following the entry of Allied forces in Syria in 1918, the deal was abolished in Turkish paper money and replaced by the Egyptian pound, which was given the status of compulsory trading, allowing the circulation of gold coins of all kinds and sources, and Turkish, English, Hindi and Egyptian silver coins.

كانت سورية حتى الحرب العالمية الأولى خاضعةً للاحتلال العثماني، وكان النقد المتداول فيها هو النقد العثماني، المعتمد على قاعدة المعدنين حتى الاصلاح النقدي في العام 1888، حيث أصبحت القاعدة الذهبية هي أساس النقد، وجعلت الليرة العثمانية الذهبية وحدة النقد الأساسية في البلاد وهي تساوي أربعة دولارات ذهبية وأربعين سنتاً، وتقسم إلى مئة قرش ذهبي، وتزن7 غرامات و166ميليغراماً من عيار 0.9165، كما وجد إلى جانب وحدة النقد الأساسية هذه نقود مساعدة مصنوعة من معادن رخيصة (فضية ونحاسية) كانت تستخدم في تأدية المدفوعات الصغيرة، أما المدفوعات الكبيرة فكانت تتم بالليرات الذهبية العثمانية وبدرجة أقل بالليرات الذهبية الإنكليزية والفرنسية.

أما النقد الورقي التركي فكان التعامل به محدوداً جداً، وكان امتياز إصدار النقد الورقي ممنوحاً للبنك الإمبراطوري العثماني، وهو شركة فرنسية - انكليزية تأسست عام 1862، وكان النقد المصدر مغطى بالذهب بنسبة 200% تقريباُ، وهو قابل للاسترداد بالذهب، إلا أن التعامل به كان قليلاً لاعتياد الشعب التعامل بالذهب.

وفي أثناء الحرب العالمية الأولى أبطلت تركيا التعامل بالذهب، وأوقفت صرف النقود الورقية التركية بالذهب، وفرضت النقود الورقية بشكل إلزامي، وعندما رفض البنك العثماني إقراض الحكومة التركية لتمويل الحرب ضد فرنسا وانكلترا، قامت الحكومة ما بين عامي 1915- 1918 بسبعة إصدارات متوالية كان أولها فقط مستنداً إلى تغطية ذهبية، والباقي إلى سندات على الخزينة الألمانية والنمساوية.

أدت الإصدارات غير المستندة إلى تغطية قوية إلى تدهور القيمة الشرائية للنقود الورقية التركية، والتي خسرت 80% من قيمتها، مما جعل الأفراد يتهربون من التعامل بها ويتمسكون بالذهب الذي زادت كميته في أقاليم الإمبراطورية، نظراً لقيام الحكومة التركية بسداد قيم المؤن التي كانت تشتريها من المقاطعات بالذهب.  

وإثر دخول قوات الحلفاء سورية عام 1918، أُبطل التعامل بالنقود الورقية التركية وحل محلها الجنيه المصري الذي كان قد أعطي صفة التداول الإجباري، مع السماح بتداول النقود الذهبية على اختلاف أنواعها ومصادرها، والنقود الفضية التركية والانكليزية والهندية والمصرية.