The Second World War bear many and multiple effects, France and the French colonies, including Syria, were shaped by economic and political influences.

As per the subordination to France, the headquarters of the Bank of Syria and Lebanon were transferred from Paris to Beirut, The French High Commissioner amended the 1938 Convention in accordance with resolutions and decrees issued by the Board of Directors.

The amendments aimed at enabling the bank "Syria and Lebanon" to meet the needs of the occupation armies of the necessary banknotes. Thus, the amount of commercial bonds covered by the coverage was increased to 25% of the volume of the money-in circulation and all the bank's loans to the State were covered.

All of the above measures sought to facilitate the issuance process without the bank having to meet the issuance coverage by the francs or other currencies, as it can use other means ready to it.
plus, after the armies of the allies occupied Syria and Lebanon, the country spend a great deal of sterling money to meet the needs of these armies of local products, If the British armies were obliged to do so, And the exchange office transferred the sterling pound and the various types of coins it had to the Central Treasury of Free France to be replaced by French francs. French francs accounted for 98% The amount of cash issued in this form amounted to 800 million Syrian pounds. France seized the equivalent of the pieces paid for the Syrian production.
As a result of the March 1941 Convention between the French and British governments, the exchange rate of the two countries was determined between the two countries. The two parties noticed that the Convention could be applied to every land belonging to the Council for the Defense of the French Empire and every land it would follow. Pound Sterling at 883.125 Syrian Pounds.

The expenses of the allied armies caused huge inflation in circulation and bank deposits, The Bank of Syria and Lebanon in the report of the Board of Directors for the years 1941-1945 estimated that this inflation is derived from the huge quantities of Syrian pounds required by allied armies from the exchange office for delivery of foreign currencies.
It should be noted that the expenses of the armies in the country that caused the increase in money in circulation were not accompanied by the possibility of import from abroad and therefore prices have been rising continuously, and effects of monetary inflation appear in the country.

 It did not then open the way for local capital to drain out of the country and ease the burden on the local market. Accordingly, a decision was made to allow this, which led to the easing of monetary inflation, that about 400 million Syrian pounds within three years left the country.

كان للحرب العالمية الثانية آثاراً كثيرة ومتعددة الاتجاهات، طالت فرنسا والمستعمرات الفرنسية ومنها سورية على شكل تأثيرات اقتصادية وسياسية.

ونتيجة التبعية لفرنسا فقد تم نقل المركز الرئيسي لمصرف سورية ولبنان من باريس إلى بيروت وقام المفوض السامي الفرنسي بتعديل اتفاقية عام 1938 بموجب قرارات ومراسيم أصدرها عن طريق مجلس المديرين وتناولت هذه القرارات والمراسيم موضوع عناصر التغطية النقدية.

استهدفت التعديلات المنوه عنها تمكين مصرف "سورية ولبنان"  تلبية حاجات جيوش الاحتلال من الأوراق النقدية اللازمة. وهكذا تم زيادة كمية الأسناد التجارية الداخلة في التغطية إلى 25% من حجم الكتلة النقدية المتداولة وأصبحت جميع قروض المصرف للدولة داخلة في التغطية.

سعت كل التدابير المشار إليها إلى تسهيل عمليات الإصدار دون أن يضطر المصرف إلى تحقيق تغطية الإصدار بواسطة الفرنكات أو العملات الأخرى، إذ أصبح بإمكانه استخدام الوسائل الأخرى المتوفرة لديه.

من جهة أخرى وبعد أن احتلت جيوش الحلفاء سورية ولبنان شهدت البلاد انفاقاً كبيراً من النقد الإسترليني لتلبية حاجات هذه الجيوش من المنتجات والسلع المحلية، وإذا كانت الجيوش البريطانية مضطرة وقتها، وهي ترابط في سورية إلى تأدية جزء كبير من نفقاتها بالليرات السورية فإنها عمدت إلى بيع الجنيهات الإسترلينية إلى مكتب القطع، وحصلت مقابلها على الليرات السورية، وكان مكتب القطع يحول الجنيهات الإسترلينية وشتى أنواع العملات المتحصلة لديه إلى الخزينة المركزية لفرنسا الحرة ليحل محلها فرنكات فرنسية، حيث بلغت نسبة الفرنكات الفرنسية في التغطية 98% من النقد المتداول، كما بلغ مقدار النقد الصادر بهذا الشكل 800 مليون ليرة سورية استولت فرنسا على ما يقابلها من القطع الذي دفع مقابل الإنتاج السوري.

ونتيجة لاتفاقية آذار من عام 1941 بين الحكومتين الفرنسية والبريطانية حدد سعر صرف عملتي البلدين بين بعضهما البعض وقد لحظ المتعاقدان إمكانية سريان مفعول الاتفاق على كل أرض تابعة "لمجلس الدفاع عن الامبراطورية الفرنسية" وكل أرض سوف تتبع له، وبعد احتلال سورية من قبل الحلفاء حدد معدل الجنيه الاسترليني بـ 883.125 قرشاً سورياً.

سببت نفقات الجيوش الحليفة تضخماً كبيراً في أرقام التداول والودائع المصرفية ويقدر مصرف سورية ولبنان في تقرير مجلس الإدارة عن أعوام 1941 - 1945 أن 8/7 هذا التضخم متأتية من الكميات الضخمة من الليرات السورية التي كانت تطلبها الجيوش الحليفة من مكتب القطع لقاء تسليمه العملات الأجنبية.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن نفقات الجيوش في البلاد التي سببت ازدياد النقود في التداول لم تكن ترافقها إمكانية الاستيراد من الخارج ولذلك فإن الأسعار أخذت في الارتفاع المستمر، وبدأت آثار التضخم النقدي تظهر في البلاد. فلم يكن بعدئذ من فتح الطريق أمام رؤوس الأموال المحلية لتنزح إلى خارج البلاد وتخفف الوطأة عن السوق المحلية، وبناء على ذلك صدر قرار يسمح بذلك، مما أدى إلى تخفيف التضخم النقدي إذ خرج من البلاد ما يقرب من 400 مليون ليرة سورية خلال ثلاث سنوات.